Graduate Institute ofFerrous Technology



Ceremony for Prof. Hae-Geon Lee's Retriement & Professor Emeritus Appointment
GIFT 12-03-06 10:36
Ceremony for Prof. Hae-Geon Lee’s Retirement & Professor Emeritus Appointment

Professor Hae-Geon Lee, who was the first Dean of the GIFT and Director of Clean Steel Laboratory, played a pivotal role in establishing GIFT, the world’s only fully-accredited education & research institute specializing in the field of steel science and technology as well as have contributed long and distinguished service to the advancement of iron and steel research in Korea.

To honor his achievements, there was a ceremony for Prof. Hae-Geon Lee’s Retirement and Professor Emeritus Appointment in the GIFT Auditorium on February 24th, 2012.

  ▲ President of POSTECH Yongmin Kim & Professor Hae-Geon Lee

 ▲ Professor Youn-Bae Kang, the master of ceremony

 ▲ Professor Hae-Geon Lee & Mrs. Myoung-Hee Bae, his wife


 ▲ Dean of GIFT, Professor Nack Joon Kim's Greetings


 ▲ President of POSTECH Yongmin Kim's Congratulatory Address

 ▲ Appointment to Professor Emeritus


 ▲ Presentation of Appreciation Plaque


 ▲ Chair Professor Chang-Oh Kang's Congratulatory Remarks


 ▲ Professor Hae-Geon Lee’s Retirement Speech

 ▲ Special Performance by Prof. Lee’s students of Clean Steel Laboratory



 ▲ Banquet at the POSCO International Center

 ▲ Professor Hae-Geon Lee’s Remarks at the Banquet



▲ Professor Hae-Geon Lee & GIFT Faculty

 ▲ Professor Hae-Geon Lee & Faculty of Materials Science and Engineering 

116 ea 4 page

Prof. Sung Mo Jung won the Adrian Normanton Award

Dr. Sung Mo Jung who is a professor of Environmental Metallurgy Lab, won the Adrian Normanton Award of IOM3 (Institute of Materials, Minerals and Mining). Adrian Normanton Award for the best technical paper o…

GIFT | 06-16 Time

Dean has been elected a fellow of KAST

Dean(Prof. Chong Soo Lee) has been elected as a fellow of KAST(The Korean Academy of Science and Technology), which is the highest honor granted to a member of the institute. Dean could earn the glory of beco…

GIFT | 01-23 Time

Khan International Medal

2013 Khan International Medal to Prof. Barlat   Prof. Frédéric Barlat, the Director of MML has been selected to be awarded the 2013 Khan International Medal for outstanding life-long contributio…

GIFT | 06-14 Time

16th NAEK Grand Prize Winner, Prof. Chang-Oh Kang

16th NAEK Grand Prize Winner, Prof. Chang-Oh Kang  Prof. Chang-Oh Kang, GIFT-POSCO Technological Innovation Chair Professor was selected as the grand prize winner of 16th National Academy of Engineeri…

GIFT | 03-13 Time

2011 POSTECH Commencement Ceremony

2011 POSTECH Commencement Ceremony POSTECH Commencement Ceremony for 2011 Academic Year was held in the POSTECH Gymnasium on Friday, February 10, 2012 at 11am.Total 30 students have graduated from Graduate…

GIFT | 02-10 Time

Top 10 Authors for SMM

Top 10 Authors for Scripta Materialia  Prof. Seok-Jae Lee, Assistant professor of MDL has been selected as the Top 10 Authors who have had more than one paper accepted in Scripta Materialia this year.He h…

GIFT | 10-11 Time

Staudinger-Durrer Medal

Prof. Yuri Estrin, adjunct professor  of MDL was awarded the Staudinger-Durrer Medal and gave a Staudinger-Durrer 2011 Lecture.You can find the detailed information at…

GIFT | 09-15 Time

Workshop on Steelmaking Research

Clean Steel Laboratory (CSL) of GIFT held 2nd workshop with Tohoku University about steelmaking research at GIFT from August 1st to 2nd of 2011.Further information were attached as a PDF file.  …

GIFT | 08-08 Time